Coping Through Beauty

IMG_7351

The easiest way to feel rejuvenated and fresh is to do something to the one part of your body that will always come back. That being, your hair. It’s the fastest way to cope with a situation. When everything feels like it’s falling apart, you can run to the store, grab a bottle of hair dye and completely change yourself within minutes.

My mother always told me that she knew when things went wrong between boy’s and I because I always asked to dye or cut my hair right after. It’s the concept of seeking change. The idea that altering your physical appearance will change the person underneath and in turn change your world around you.

It doesn’t just have to be fights with boys that make you crave change. I got into a fight with my best friend and hours later I was in the bathroom gloved up and holding a tube of pink hair dye. Accompanied by a pink streak, I set foot into the world with a fresh outlook. No longer letting the petty drama affect me. It’s funny how something so minor can spark such a fiery feeling in oneself.

Whenever someone questions me about my hair, makeup or possible tattoos/piercings I don’t feel it necessary to answer. Why should my physical appearance be any of your business?  My motives for creating how I look on the outside shouldn’t matter and it shouldn’t be a controversy. So next time your world feels like it’s falling apart, turn to something less harmful like dying your hair or chopping it all off because in the end, the chaos will pass and your hair will grow back.

2 thoughts on “Coping Through Beauty

Leave a Reply

